CSCC Web banner

Arthur M. Cohen and Florence B. Brawer Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Arthur M. Cohen has been a professor of higher education at UCLA since 1964 and was named a professor emeritus in 2004. He earned a bachelor's degree and master's degree in history from the University of Miami in 1949 and 1955, respectively. In 1964 he earned a doctorate in higher education from Florida State University. Dr. Cohen co-founded the Center for the Study of Community Colleges at UCLA in 1964 with Dr. John V. Lombardi and his late wife, Dr. Florence B. Brawer, and was president of the center from 1974 to 2007. Dr. Cohen was the director of the ERIC Clearinghouse for Community Colleges from 1966 to 2003, served on the editorial boards of numerous journals, and is the author of many significant books on the community colleges, including his first book in 1969, Dateline '79: Heretical Concepts for the Community College. His research focuses on the role and function of American community colleges and the history of higher education.

Dr. Florence B. Brawer was a research educationist at UCLA, a psychometrist, and a counselor. Dr. Brawer earned a bachelor's degree in psychology in 1944 from the University of Michigan as well as an M.A. and Ed.D. in educational psychology from UCLA in 1962 and 1967, respectively. She was the co-editor of Developments in the Rorschach Technique, Volume 3 from 1970 and New Perspective of Personality Development in College Students from 1973. In addition, Dr. Brawer served as research director for the Center for the Study of Community Colleges. She passed away in 2014 at the age of 91.

Together, Drs. Cohen and Brawer wrote Confronting Identity: The Community College Instructor (1972), The Two-Year College Instructor Today (1977), The Collegiate Function of Community Colleges (1987), and six editions of The American Community College. With the assistance of ERIC staff members, Cohen and Brawer also wrote A Constant Variable: New Perspectives on the Community College (1971) and College Responses to Community Demands (1975). Drs. Cohen and Brawer also edited several series of monographs published by the Center for the Study of Community Colleges and the ERIC Clearinghouse for Community Colleges, and in 1973 initiated the Jossey-Bass series New Directions for Community Colleges.

The CSCC Distinguished Service Award was renamed the Arthur M. Cohen and Florence B. Brawer Distinguished Award in 2014.     

Former Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2019 - Brent Cejda
2018 - Bob Barber
2017 - Beverly L. Bower
2016 - Pamela L. Eddy
2014 - Trudy Bers and Debra Bragg
2013 - Florence Brawer and Arthur Cohen
2012 - John E. Rouche
2011 - James C. Palmer
2010 - Deborah L. Floyd
2009 - Barbara K. Townsend
2007 - Dale Campbell
2006 - Larry Ebbers and Berta Vigil Laden
2005 - D. Barry Lumsden
2002 - Marybelle Keim
2001 - George Vaughan
2000 - John Dennison
1999 - Paul Elsner
1994 - Darrel Clowes
1993 - George Baker
1991 - Dorothy Knoell
1990 - Terry O'Banion
1989 - Raymond Young and William Moore
1986 - Robert Sullin
1984 - Richard Richardson
1983 - Fred Kintzer
1982 - Dale Tillery
1981 - Jane Matson
1980 - S.V. Martorana
1979 - Joseph Cosand
1978 - Norman Harris, Raymond Schultz, and James Wattenbarger
1977 - Edmund Gleazer, B. Lamar Johnson, and Leland Medsker

Return to CSCC Home Page ›