CSCC Web banner

Barbara K. Townsend Emerging Scholar Award

The late Dr. Barbara K. Townsend was a professor of higher education and director of the Center for Community College Research at the University of Missouri-Columbia. She received a bachelor's degree in 1965 and a master's degree in 1967 from the State University of New York at Albany in English and an Ed.D. degree in higher education in 1984 from the College of William and Mary. Dr. Townsend taught at Towson State University, State University of New York at Buffalo, and Thomas Nelson Community College. She was a graduate faculty member and administrator at Loyola University Chicago and the University of Memphis.

Dr. Townsend's agenda was driven by an interest in baccalaureate attainment, particularly for women and minoritized students. The core of her research was a focus on community college as a major vehicle for facilitating this attainment, including through the community college baccalaureate. In addition to more than 50 journal publications, Dr. Townsend co-authored work with her students and professor colleagues. Her publications include the authoring and editing of books and monographs such as Community College Faculty: Overlooked and Undervalued (2007); Community College Missions in the 21st Century (2006); ASHE Reader on Community Colleges, 3rd Ed. (2006); The Role of Community Colleges in Teacher Education (2003); Community Colleges: Policy in the Future Context (2000); Two-Year Colleges for Women and Minorities (1999); and Creating Distinctiveness: Lessons from Uncommon Colleges and Universities (1992).

A longtime member of CSCC, Dr. Townsend served as the president of the organization from 1999 to 2000. In 2001 she was the recipient of the CSCC Senior Scholar Award and received the Distinguished Service Award in 2009. The CSCC Emerging Scholar Award was named for Dr. Townsend in 2009. This award recognizes a new scholar for outstanding theoretical and/or applied research that contributes to the professional body of knowledge about community college; demonstrated excellence in teaching, advising, and/or mentoring; and integration of knowledge of teaching and service.

Former Barbara K. Townsend Emerging Scholar Award Recipients

2019 - Regina Garza Mitchell
2018 - Deryl K. Hatch-Tocaimaza
2017 - Yi "Leaf" Zhang
2016 - Jason L. Taylor
2015 - Xueli Wang and Lyle McKinney
2014 - Mark D'Amico
2013 - Luke Wood
2012 - Christopher Mullin
2011 - Regina Deil-Amen and Peter Riley Bahr
2010 - Soko Starobin
2009 - Jamie Lester
2007 - Alicia Dowd
2006 - Pamela L. Eddy
2003 - Steve Aragon
2002 - Brent Cejda
2001 - Berta Vergil Laden
2000 - Frankie Santos Laanan
1999 - Romero Jalomo
1998 - John P. Murray

Return to CSCC Home Page ›